The Universe has its own Plans 

Hello everyone,

Life has a funny way of creating unseen twists and turns. In this space I should be writing my first entry from somewhere on the French side of the Pyrenees Mountains, but instead I’m in Portland, Maine. Close to 72 hours ago I made the decision to cancel my entire trip to Europe. While on its surface that decision is a bummer, the reason I did it was actually quite simple and one that I’m very comfortable and at ease with. 

Without getting into a large volume of detail, our father needs to have a surgical procedure and, frankly, there was no way I was going to be comfortable hiking half a world away while that was going on, and so I made the decision to cancel my trip. Our pops has spent his life devoted to making the best life for his family, so it is literally the easiest decision I could ever make to stay here and support him. 

I’m confident that our pops will do awesome and also that my feet will make their way across Spain once again in the not too distant future. For now I’ll appreciate the fact that we all have very little control over the paths we take in life and remember one of my favorite Bruce Springsteen verses, “Mamma always told me not to look into the sights of the sun…whoa but Mamma that’s where the fun is.”

Take care of each other. I wish everyone Peace, love and happiness. 
Anton 

4 thoughts on “The Universe has its own Plans 

  1. We fully understand and all the best to your “pops”, my brother-in-law. He will do well. His attitude is great.
    Hugs from A.Betty

    Like

  2. That’s a no brainer, Anton, but kudos to you for doing the right thing – again…
    Prayers for your Dad coming his way.

    Like

Leave a comment